Price: $3,999.00

Course Number: 6501
Length: 5 Days
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

DoD 8570 Training course by TONEX offers you the most effective way to become DoD 8570 compliant.

Government agencies know that their best line of defense for securing and protecting their vital information and information systems is a well-trained and aware user. That’s why DoD Directive 8570.1 was put into place. This enterprise-wide mandate requires that any personnel conducting Information Assurance (IA) functions be trained and certified in a commercial certification on the concepts, principles, and applications to enhance protection of the Department of Defense’s (DoD) information, information systems, and networks

DOD 8570 provides guidance and procedures for the training, certification, and management of the DoD workforce conducting Information Assurance functions in assigned duty positions. It also provides guidance on reporting metrics.

What agencies are affected by 8570?

  • Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Military Departments
  • Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Combatant Commands
  • Office of the Inspector General of the DoD
  • Defense Agencies
  • DoD Field Activities
  • all other organizational entities in the DoD

Tonex DoD 8570 Training Certification program will take the average student about 80 hours to complete and prepares the attendees for the following certification exams:

Who Is Affected by 8570?

Any full-time or part-time civilian employee, military service member, contractor, or local national with privileged access to a DoD information system performing information assurance (security) functions — regardless of job or occupational series. The manual, 8570.01M, specifies that the Department of Defense requires approximately 110,000 identified Information Assurance professionals to be certified within a five year time period. The Defense Information Assurance Program office has divided its Information Assurance workforce into six defined categories (see chart below). The manual also specifies the types of commercial information assurance credentials that qualify for each of the defined categories

DoD Baseline IA Certifications

Tech I

  • A+
  • Network+
  • Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)

Tech II

  • Tonex Security Essentials Certification
  • Security+
  • Security Certified Network Professional (SCNP)
  • Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)

Tech III

  • Tonex Advanced Security Certification
  • CISSP: Certified Information System Security Professional
  • Security Certified Network Architect (SCNA)
  • CISA: Certified Information Systems Auditor

Management I

  • Tonex Information Security Fundamentals
  • Tonex Security Leadership Certification
  • Security+

Management II

  • Tonex Information Security Fundamentals
  • Applied Information Security
  • CISSP: Certified Information System Security Professional

Management III

  • Applied Information Security
  • Tonex Information Security Fundamentals
  • CISSP: Certified Information System Security Professional


Who Should Attend

Information Assurance Technical (IAT) and IA Management (IAM) personnel must be fully trained and certified to baseline requirements to perform their IA duties. The policy defines IAT workforce members as anyone with privileged system access performing IA functions. IAM functions described in the Manual are for any information system, program or organization. The training, certification, and workforce management requirements of 8570.1 apply to all members of the DoD IA workforce including military, civilians, foreign nationals, local nationals, and contractors. They apply whether the duties are performed full-time, part-time, or as an embedded duty. Future updates to the Manual will incorporate additional portions of the IA workforce. IA Categories This boot camp covers two IA programs: Information Assurance Management (IAM) Category Non-Technical management/administration of Computing Environment (CE) and Network Environment (NE)Information Assurance Technical (IAT) program Technical “hands on” with assigned CE & NE, Level III also focuses on the Enclave level environment. Requires CE certificationIAT category’s functional requirements are cumulative Personnel must demonstrate mastery of lower level duties CE Certification + Security Certification RequiredPersonnel assigned IAT positions must be issued and retain an appointing letter to their IA duties, COTR maintains for contractorsIAT Level I – 0-4 years experienceIAT Level II – 3-7 years in IA technology or related areaIAT Level III – Main focus on enclave environment and have at least 7+ years of experience Personnel assigned IAM positions must be issued and retain an appointing letter to their IA duties, COTR maintains for contractorsIAM positions that also perform IAT functions must meet both IAT & IAM requirementsAll contract, continuing certification, continuing education requirements listed in IAT section are applicable IAM does NOT require CE – Operating System, etc. certificationsIAM Level I – 0-5 years management experienceIAM Level II – At least 5 years management experience


This program provides guidance for the identification and categorization of positions and certification of personnel conducting Information Assurance (IA) functions within the DoD workforce supporting the DoD Global Information Grid (GIG) per DoD Instruction 8500.2

The objectives for IA workforce improvment is to:

-Develop a DoD IA workforce with a common understanding of the concepts,principles, and applications of IA for each category, level, and function to enhance protection and availability of DoD information, information systems, and networks.

-Establish baseline technical and management IA skills among personnel performing IA functions across the DoD enterprise.

-Provide warfighters qualified IA personnel in each category and level.

-Implement a formal IA workforce skill development and sustainment process,comprised of resident courses, distributive training, blended training, supervised on-the-jobtraining, exercises, and certification/recertification.

-Verify IA workforce knowledge and skills through standard certification testing.

-Augment and expand on a continuous basis the knowledge and skills obtained through experience or formal education.


Courses offered in the DoD 8570 Training Bootcamp

  • A+ Boot Camp for the Federal 8570 Program
  • Network+ Boot Camp for the Federal 8570 Program - 2009 Edition
  • Security+ Certification Boot Camp for the Federal 8570.1 Program (SYO-301)
  • CISSP Prep Training Course
  • CEH Training
  • SSCP Prep Training Course
  • SCNA Training
  • CISA Prep Course
  • CISM Prep Course

The training bootcamp includes:

  • Comprehensive Training Material
  • Assessments
  • Certification preparation
  • Program management
  • Post training and testing
  • Tracking and reporting
  • Continuing education

Request More Information

Please enter contact information followed by your questions, comments and/or request(s):
  • Please complete the following form and a Tonex Training Specialist will contact you as soon as is possible.

    * Indicates required fields

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Request More Information

  • Please complete the following form and a Tonex Training Specialist will contact you as soon as is possible.

    * Indicates required fields

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.