Price: $2,199.00

Course Number: 11771
Length: 3 Days
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Why choosing TONEX as your FEAF training provider?

FEAF Training covers many aspects of Federal Enterprise Architecture Framework (FEAF). FEAF is an initiative of the US Office of Management and Budget that aims to comply with the Clinger-Cohen Act and provide a common methodology for information technology (IT) acquisition in the United States federal government. It is designed to ease sharing of information and resources across federal agencies, reduce costs, and improve citizen services.

FEAF Training

The FEA is entirely business-driven. Its foundation is the Business Reference Model, which describes the government’s Lines of Business and its services. This business-based foundation provides a common framework for improvement in a variety of key areas such as:

  • Budget Allocation
  • Information Sharing
  • Performance Measurement
  • Budget / Performance Integration
  • Cross-Agency Collaboration
  • E-Government
  • Component-Based Architectures

FEAF training covers four main aspects of the FEA including:

  • A high-level overview of EA concepts and principles.
  • Detailed coverage of FEAF : Architecture Drivers, Strategic Direction, –Current Architecture, Target Architecture, Transitional Processes , Architectural Segments , Architectural Models and Standards
  • Segmenting Architecture covering architecture concepts, the content included in segment architecture, and how to use segment architecture.
  • Developing Segment Architecture and how to develop segment architecture, when one should be developed, and who should participate in its development.
  • Enterprise Architecture Transition Strategy and what is included in an EA transition strategy and provides guidance on developing and using an EA transition strategy.
  • Measuring EA Program Value – Describes a continuous, customer focused process relying on feedback from EA stakeholders and other value measures to increase the quality and effectiveness of EA products and services to support business decisions.


Upon completion of this course, the attendees will be able to:

  • Describe the current and future state of the agency and its segments
  • Define the desired results for an agency and priority segments
  • Determine what resources are used to achieve measurable performance
  • Improve an agency’s core mission areas and common or shared services
  • Leverage business and information management resources across the agency
  • Develop a transition strategy to achieve strategic goals and objectives and btarget performance improvements
  • Measure the value of EA products and services to inform decisions in other practice areas and support business results
  • Understand FEA Reference Model: PRM, BRM, SRM, DRM, and TRM
  • Compare FEAF with other EA frameworks such as TOGAF, Zachman, DoDAF, RUP/EUP and EAP


The Federal Enterprise Architecture (FEA)
  • Federal Enterprise Architecture (FEA) Program
  • What does FEA Include?
  • EA Definition by Federal Enterprise Architecture (FEA)
  • Why is Enterprise Architecture Important for Government Agencies?
    • Budget allocation
    • Horizontal and vertical information sharing
    • Performance measurement and budget/performance integration
    • Cross-agency collaboration
    • Improved service to the citizen
    • e-Government
    • Component Based Architecture
  • Objectives of FEA
    • Business Outcomes
    • Applying Segment Architecture
    • Stakeholders
    • Prerequisites and Success Factors
  • Segment Architecture Concepts
  • Segment Identification and Integration
  • Initiating Segment Architecture
  • FEA: Business and IT Integration
Federal Government EA History
  • The Clinger-Cohen Act - 1996
  • Federal Enterprise Architecture Framework (FEAF) - 1999
  • OMB Circular A-130 - 2000
  • The E-Government Act - 2002
  • OMB Circular A-11 – 2004
  • Various OMB memorandums
Overview of FEA Reference Model Overview
  • Performance Reference Model (PRM)
  • Business Reference Model (BRM)
  • Service Component Reference Model (SRM)
  • Data Reference Model (DRM)
  • Technical Reference Model (TRM)

Performance Reference ModeL (PRM)

  • Objectives of PRM
  • Measurement Areas
  • Measurement Indicators
Business Reference ModeL (BRM)
  • Objectives of BRM
  • Services for Citizens and Mode of Delivery Business Areas
  • Support Delivery of Services Business Area
  • Management of Government Resources Business Area

Service Component Reference Model (SRM)

  • Customer Services Domain
  • Process Automation Services Domain
  • Business Management Services Domain
  • Digital Asset Services Domain
  • Business Analytical Services Domain
  • Back Office Services Domain
  • Support Services Domain

Technical Reference Model (TRM)

  • Service Access and Delivery
  • Service Platform and Infrastructure
  • Component Framework
  • Service Interface and Integration

Data Reference Model (DRM)

  • Data Description
  • Data Context
  • Data Sharing
  • Contact Information
FEA Practice Guidance
  • Business Outcomes
  • Applying Segment Architecture
  • Stakeholders
  • Prerequisites and Success Factors
  • Segment Architecture Concepts
  • Segment Identification and Integration
  • Initiating Segment Architecture

Request More Information

  • Please complete the following form and a Tonex Training Specialist will contact you as soon as is possible.

    * Indicates required fields

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.